YouTube and stuff

Boy, it’s weird to write here again. It’s been… since July last year?! Christ, that’s a lifetime ago in internet years. Am I fully active and back? Yes, no. Maybe?

Kind of?

I’ve been going back and forth on this whole blogging thing, and with where my focus has been the past year or so, I can’t for sure say that blogging will ever be a main focus for me. The blog will stay up, because I like how it ended up, and the amount of effort I put into it. But my current ambitions don’t lie with this blog at the moment, and I don’t want to be disengeniuous about it. Instead I’ve been focusing on making YouTube videos, which is kind of like writing blogs posts, but with a few more layers of effort put on top of it.

Whenever I make a YouTube video, I make a general outline for it. And my outlines tend to be the size of a blog post that would make it on here. And then the editing starts. Getting the game footage, almost exclusively all my own. Then taking that to a video editor and hacking it to pieces, splicing it together with the audio. Choosing music to go with both the footage and what I’m saying. Then smoothing out the edges.

I can’t say I’m a pro at it, but as I’m doing it, I’m learning and improving on the video making craft.

And best of all? People respond to the videos. They get more views, more comments, more shares, than the blog ever did. And the blog itself was a success. It got really good traffic, and nice response, opened quite a few doors for me in life. But the Youtube channel has been doing better than that in a shorter time, and I feel like this ball will keep rolling over time. Not only that, but I’m enjoying all the extra parts of putting a video together more creatively.

 

It’s not my first outing with video content either. I used to vlog back in the day. Now I’m making videogame videos, not even let’s plays, and I’m enjoying that a lot more than the old stuff I used to do.

So if anyone is still keeping up with this blog and wonders where the hell I’ve gone off to the past year and still cares, now you know. I’m making YT videos. Maybe if I’m really proud of one, like the two posted here, I’ll come here and post about them. I haven’t given up on writing, I still write, but for the most part, I write for myself. Though I did move posts over to Medium to see how they’d do over there and it was fine. Nothing too major, though a network wanted to pick a post up.

That said, I’d like to thank everyone who read my posts over the years. Thank you for the support, and hopefully see you on the video side.

One thought on “YouTube and stuff

  1. Pingback: Videogame YouTube Channels I Love | Remy van Ruiten

Leave a Reply

