Rest In Peace, Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett

“It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die. That is true, it’s called Life.” – Terry Pratchett, The Last Continent

One of my proudest moments related to writing that I have experience was when I told one of the people at the American Book Center in The Hague that it would be a great idea to put up a list with the reading order somewhere near the bookshelf that was practically exclusive to him at the time. Unless you really plan on reading all of his works, it can be pretty daunting to pick up a Discworld book as they’re all part of miniseries within the larger series, each with their own sense of continuation. I was just making small talk with one of the staff members at the time and was surprised to actually see the reading order guide that’s often shared online taped to the shelf.

21f0b04648270b9098f3399d96eda419

Discworld has always been a series close to my heart. It’s what got me back into enjoying reading in my early twenties. For a year or so, I almost exclusively read his works just because it was as enjoyable to read as there was a lot of it.

If any there has to be any supernatural or religious nonsense in this world and beyond, I hope it’s his vision of Death. I’m sure Death would have made the time to personally come pick him up if it’s so.

Rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

