Monthly Wrap Up: February 2013

Chaotic. That’s the best word to describe the last month. Like last month, I can barely believe that all this happened in just one month, although this time it’s mostly because both good and news kept swinging back and forth so violently that it became hard to keep track of all of it at points. But we’ll get to that soon enough.

Books

The Phoenix on the Sword by Robert E. Howard, Dead Harvest by Chris F. Holm, The Legend of Zelda – Hyrule Historia.

Not too many books. Kind of bad considering I’m trying to read 10 books per month, tying into the overal goal of 100 books for the entire year. Although three is better than absolutely nothing. It’s been a chaotic night, and during large parts of it I was too stressed or tired to really focus myself on reading.

I actually read Hyrule Historia already last month, but I didn’t want to talk about it yet as I didn’t want to give too much away about it before the review went up. It’s a fantastic book and I urge anyone interested in The Legend of Zelda to go pick the damn book up and read it.

Surprisingly, there was a book that topped it in terms of enjoyment for me. I was expecting Historia to end up being the top pick for this month either way. Until I read Dead Harvest by Chris F. Holm. If you want more on that, just read the review that I linked. What I can say is that I picked up the second book, The Wrong Goodbye and that I intend to read that the coming week.

The Phoenix on the Sword is one of the Conan the Barbarian books I picked up recently. I still have a few more to read. They’re a lot more fun than I expected them to be, even if they’re predictable and simple fantasy books by today’s standards.

TV

Arrow season 1, Community season 4, Mystery Science Theater 3000

Arrow’s first season is still running, so naturally, I’m still keeping up on that show. I’m still surprised at how quickly this show has become one of my favorites this season. And it’s still rapidly increasing in quality with each episode. Really can’t wait to see what direction they’ll take this one.

Sadly, I can’t say the same for Community’s fourth season. The episode they opened the season with was one of the worst episodes of a comedy show that I’ve seen, not even getting away with a single smile or chuckle at any point. The second episode seemed more like a step in the proper direction… and I kind of forgot about the show at that point. It stopped being a priority show that I feel I need to keep up with. Which is a shame, since the original Community was so strong. I really hope the new writers can somehow get the hang of the show and return it to its former glory, but I honestly don’t have much hope for it.

Since I never really sat down to watch all of Mystery Science Theater 3000, that exactly what I’m doing now. God, I love that show.

MST3K Agent Double 007

MOVIES

Rocket Ship X-M, Sidehackers, Jungle Goddess, Catalina Caper, Rocket Attack USA, Ring of Terror, Wild Rebels, Lost Continent, The Hellcats, King Dinosaur, First Spaceship on Venus,  Godzilla vs Megalon, Goldzilla vs The Sea Monster, Warrior of the Lost World, Hercules, Swamp Diamonds, Secret Agent Double 007, Secret Agent Super Dragon, Eegah, The Avengers, Men in Black 3, Brave, Puss in Boots, Monsters vs Aliens, Dredd 3D, The Karate Kid (remake)

Yes, I realize I’m cheating by counting the MST3K episodes, but hey, this is my listing. Besides, now that I’m watching MST3K, I can say that I’ve seen Godzilla vs Megalon, or that I’ve seen Sean Connery’s brother play 007’s brother in Agent Double 007. It’s a win-win situation!

That said, the most fun movie that I’ve seen this month, by far, has been Brave. I’m not a big fan of Pixar, or of Dreamworks, or any of the animation studios that make animation features in 3D. Despite that, I really found Brave to be a special treat. It’s one of the few movies where, when the movie was over, I had absolutely no complaints or objections about it. Everything perfectly clicked and was just a pure joy to see.

GAMING

Summon Night: Swordcraft Story, Mega Man Battle Network 3, Dungeon Defenders, The Binding of Isaac

Didn’t really play that many games this month again. I beat Summon Night: Swordcraft Story, which was a blast. Mega Man Battle Network 3 is still ongoing, but I currently don’t have access to the computer I was playing it on because I recently moved. I started playing Dungeon Defenders on my new laptop.

Then there’s The Binding of Isaac. I recently beat the game with Blue Boy, and got fat enough to get Mom’s Knife. For those who don’t know The Bind of Isaac that well, this means I beat the game about 12 times or so. Right now I just need to beat the game with the other characters besides Isaac, and then I’m just about done with vanilla Binding of Isaac and ready to get Wrath of Lamb. I was pretty sure I had it already, but none of its contents are appearing in the game so far. So I’m pretty sure I’ll have to grab it off of Steam sometime soon.

ACTIVITIES

Moving, getting a new laptop, extra work, lasergaming

There was the housing problem. I was about to move and got to see this really cool house that I wanted to accept and move to as soon as possible. The person who refused it before me due to financial reasons suddenly came back and said he wanted to take it. So the house went to him instead. Until it became clear he really could not financially survive. Then it went back to me. I moved in yesterday. Everything is still a mess right now as I’m settling in and organizing my stuff along the space of my new house.

There’s not much more to say in that field. I’ve only recently moved in there. I’m really liking it there a lot more than the previous place so far though!

So what’s everyone else done this month?

Leave a Reply

