Geeking Out

i want actionAfter a long period in my life where I didn’t have much control over where or how I’d spend my time, the ability to fine-tune back into my comfort zone is something that is almost magical to me. Keep in mind that, for well over a year, I had so little control over my life that I couldn’t even afford to wear the type of clothing I’m comfortable in and then imagine that I’m back to the point where I can watch current TV shows weekly, listen to my own music, and read up on what I’m interested again.

Yeah, that is a big difference. Even thinking back within the span of the last half year. My life’s been steadily been going upwards again.

There’s currently several projects that I’m entangled in to the point of not having enough hours in the day to do everything I want anymore. Which is perfectly fine with me. Having been on the opposite end of that field, with too many hours and not enough to do, it’s hard to complain.

During the last few weeks, geeking out was something that became a regular occurance again. A friend forwarded me an e-mail with exciting news that I’m sure will make its way to this blog very soon. I’m excited about the new Zombieland TV show that’s been announced. I finally got around to reading Tina Fey’s book, Bossypants, which has been on my reading list since the day it came out. I got my hands on Chris F. Holm’s Dead Harvest, which was apparently listed for the Stoker Award on the day I bought it. Breaking Bad Season 5 was a thing I saw. The recent Rurouni Kenshin movie warmed my heart in being a genuinely good live-action version of one of my favorite anime. The more I read Berserk, the more excited I get about reading more. Nintendo’s WiiU keeps sounding more appealing to me with each major announcement for it.

breaking bad magnets

I also get to make stuff like this again. Which I love doing.

Then there’s the fact that just last night I took an archery class. I didn’t sign up for anything just yet, it was just class to try it out before actually going ahead and paying for a full year. Archery is something I’ve always wanted to do. Now that I have tried it, I’m not sure what’s kept me from trying it. Pulling back the string and letting an arrow fly towards a target is more fun than I even imagined it would be. Plus holding a longbow just feels right to me somehow in a way I can’t even begin to describe. It just works.

Windrunner DotA2

I may have quoted Windrunner at some point. Maybe. Absolutely.

I still haven’t signed up for anything major yet though. Before that there’s another thing I want to try out before deciding what class to take first. The other one being improv. I think improv classes might do some good to me. Mostly because I’m always afraid of screwing up and making mistakes. Even after making plenty of them and acknowleding how much I learned from them. Even after going door to door for the British Red Cross and throwing my pitch out the window in favor of just rolling with whatever felt right at the time.

Just as I was excited about trying out archery, I’m incredibly excited to try improv class.

Then I look back at where I was half a year ago and see that I couldn’t really bring myself to get really excited about things at that time because I was way too stressed out about a whole lot of things. It’s amazing how time flies and how situations can change that fast. At the same time, I think it’s because of having been in those situations, I can get a lot more excited about things than I could in the past. I’ve spent enough time without any of the things I liked, and now I’m in power to move my life in the directions that I want it to.

That realization by itself is big. You have the power to change your situation. That a positive attitude towards things can actually create a much more positive outcome. That just knowing you’re putting your energy into something you believe in can often be the reward in itself… That’s a powerful realization.

Keeping busy with the things you want to keep busy with and geeking out is also a good distraction to all the negative things in life. And let’s face it, we can always find those even if we’re not looking for them.

Leave a Reply

