Building Up

When you start building up from nothing after a long time without a real address or income, one of the biggest shadows lurking over you is debt. You don’t know how much of it you have. You can be sure it’s there, and you can be sure that once you’re registered at one address or another, it’ll catch up with you in the long run. When you build up again, there’s two ways about it. Face it yourself, or let it come to you later.

Naturally, letting it come to you isn’t the best choice. Debt tends to accumulate if you just let it be. Whatever number you’re afraid to see now can double, triple, increase tenfold by the time it catches up to you. Sure, it’s going to be hard to face it early on, when you barely have the money for food or clothing, but it’s going to get a heck of a lot worse later on.

So the best option is to just accept that it’s there, and face it as soon as possible. Get in contact with the companies that you might have a debt with. Get some insight about your financial situation.

That’s what I did. Every couple of months I had an appointment to see how much debt had surfaced. Only two bills popped up, both small enough to completely pay off within the next half year. That’s it.

I went in knowing it wouldn’t be too much. Racking up debt is nothing something that’s been part of me. When I left home, I didn’t really know how to handle money all that well, but I never had the intention to spend more than I had. Even if I did get close to it. I can get around with minimal expenses. Bling, swag, or whatever you want to call it, just doesn’t do it for me.

Today I had my last meeting about my debt check. Everything’s come up empty, besides the numbers I’m already paying off. I’ve got money saved up besides, and if nothing bad happens in the next couple of months that’ll go to clearing my debt entirely.

It feels good to be in the clear again.

Honestly, I can’t think of better new to start the year with. I can move on with my life at a faster pace than I initially expected.

In the meantime, I’m catching up on media stuff at a fast rate. Going through missed podcasts, books, TV shows, graphic novels… I didn’t read, write, view, or do all that much in the past year and I’m doing the best I can to make up for all of that.

There will be more posts about all of that very soon. So you can all look forward to that. In the meantime, know that things are going well over on my side of the internet.

PS: At least, if WordPress stops being a dick. Something with the layout is not working for me and I can barely access my dashboard, let alone get to the page where I can add new posts. Even if I do find my way there, the text field is all cluttered and broken. Not sure what’s causing this.

Leave a Reply

