>2013 >Resolutions

It’s 2013 and I don’t have any New Year’s Resolutions.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not against the idea of having resolutions for the next year. It’s good to think of things you want to change, improve, do, or better for the next phase in your life. Resolutions like that are never wrong to have.

I’m also not against the artificial construct of invisible barriers we put up to define the passage of time either. You give your own meaning to things. If you believe New Year’s Eve signifies a change in the times, then so it does. Personally, I like believing that the change of the big number on the calendar signifies something other than just that big number.

That doesn’t mean I’m a resolution kind of guy though. Instead of making a list of resolutions, I just like working with a set list of goals for the following year.

Yes, there’s a difference there. To me there is anyway.

A resolution feels like something you wish to see resolved. Something you want over and done with. Something you don’t actually want to do, but want to have done. And that’s fine, lots of things are worth having done, and all the hype in the world won’t help to make it fun doing them.

Then on the flipside, there are goals. Things you want to achieve. Things to look forward to that, no matter how much effort they cost, you want to do. Want to actively pursue.

Right now there’s a lot of things I want to do. Goals I want to hit. Small and big. For myself. For others. For now, and for the future. Some goals are tied to this year so they can’t run and hide when they’re most needed. Some are on a leash and can roam freely into the years to come, they’re big enough to afford more leniency.

I want to write more. I want to read 100 books this year. I want to learn how to sew. Grow my own tea. Write for more other sites. Start new projects. Create a financial buffer. I want to build my own PC. Write a song. Learn how to play a wind instrument. Sort out my e-mails. Build a new social circle. I want to (self)publish a novel. Be more supportive towards friends. Clear my gaming backlog. Watch 100 movies this year. Listen to 50 albums I never heard before. Catch up on comics. Learn JavaScript.

There’s more that I want to do this year, and there probably are even more things I’ll actually end up doing. 365 days is a long time, and there’s a lot of things you can do in it if you know how to focus on them. All you have to do is accept it takes time, and that you won’t master things instantly.

The coming year I’ll probably fail at a lot of these things, and in failing I’ll learn. Which is good, so long as you’re prepared for it.

In 2012, I failed more and harder than I ever thought I’d fail. When the going got tough, I got up and panicked. Making things worse than they were in the process. And they were pretty damn bad to begin with. It took me half a year to recover from the meltdowns and pains of the year. But now that I’m still here, I’m all the stronger for it.

I can’t say I won’t fail at anything in 2013, but I can say I’m more prepared to deal with things going wrong now. Maybe last year I hit rock bottom, maybe right now is the silence before the real storm comes round and shit hits the fan harder than ever before. If it does though, I’m much more prepared for it than I was before. But I don’t think it’s going to happen. Right now I’m already in a much better spot than I was for all of last year.

So I’ll keep my goals, and I’ll see how many of them I can achieve in the coming year. In between myself and every major goal, I’ve put a set of smaller goals leading the way. Slowly working my way up to what I want to do.

What do you guys want this year to bring?

Leave a Reply

