Scott Pilgrim vs My Opinion

This is really the most original title for this blog post I could come up with. Super original, I know. It took me hours. Shut up. To be clear: this isn’t a review. I’d have to watch the again, and analyze it more fully if I wanted to review it. At the moment, I am really not up to this.

A couple of days ago I watched Scott Pilgrim vs The World. A movie many a geek has taken to heart. Deeply. A lot of people seem to identify with the adventures of Scott Pilgrim as he battles the evil exes of his love interest, Ramona.

I didn’t like it.

Oh boy, that was a surprise! Remy, you don’t like anything! You hate the hell out of Doctor Who as well! How can you even think of being a geek and dislike Scott Pilgrim or Doctor Who?

I’ll tell you how.

To me Doctor Who is a shallow and bland product a lot of people can easily identify with themselves in the same way you identify with the qualities of your horoscope sign. It’s nothing. It’s everything. It used to be something, and that thing wasn’t too great either. Nostalgia held that memory up, and a group of people desperate to cling on to something to be part of the fandom of swung towards Doctor Who when they realized the train to Hogswarts was full.

If you don’t believe me, you don’t know how huge a deal fandom is on the teen parts of the internet. You must have the fortune of never having setting foot on Tumblr.

It’s not the case for everyone who enjoys Doctor Who or Scott Pilgrim, but for a large amount of people it is that tendency to follow other fandoms to have a sense of being part of something.

Okay, this was going to be a post about Scott Pilgrim vs The World, let’s get back to that now.

Scott Pilgrim vs The World is one of those movies that has a message at its hard, and manages to miss it itself starting with the very premise itself. The core of the movie tells us that we should accept ourselves, stand strong in our identity, and grow up. This makes the forces retro gaming perspective a painfully awkward presence in the movie. Heck, the 1UP Macguffin picked up halfway through and used near the end completely undermines this.

Growing up doesn’t have you facing bad guys and powering up. It also doesn’t feature people turning to coins River City Ransom style. And you don’t get to try again because you picked up an extra live along the way.

The dialogue is terrible. Okay, maybe this one can be forgiven to an extent. It’s based on a comic book. A comic book that’s playing off of pop-culture of all things. Expecting fantastic writing is a no-go based on that already. But that doesn’t mean it has to be so bad that it makes one think this is George Lucas trying his hand at writing a movie to speak to the teens. Even a lot of the fan-favorite lines are incredibly lame.

Although that’s the point.

Which is something I’m having trouble wrapping my head around.

It’s the point it’s lame? It’s the point it’s mediocre? That band, and most of the music they play is extremely trashy… is the point?

Oh, I see. It’s been ironic.

Right.

Irony does not make for a good basic structure. It just leads to something mediocre as being handwaved away as being “just good enough” to keep in. It’s not something to be proud of.

I guess my main problem with Scott Pilgrim vs The World is that its bland in its own identity. Despite it being the only thing of its kind that I’ve seen, it still didn’t feel fresh or new. I felt like I’ve seen this before. Nothing came out as surprising, in fact, my feelings towards the movie hasn’t been changed the slightest from before seeing it. And I guess that’s normal. Anyone who will actually like Scott Pilgrim will likely have seen it a hundred times by now.

In that way, it’s kind of like a McDonalds movie. If you like it, you’ll go back often enough. You’ll likely know it’s bland, and not exactly the best thing out there, but you’ll still come back for more. Possibly even calling it your favorite food somewhere along the way.

McDonalds really isn’t for me either.

Leave a Reply

