Best of 2010

Wait, didn’t I already do a retrospective post about 2010? Why, yes I did. This one isn’t looking back at the year as much as it’s a post in which I discuss my favorite movies, games and other noteworthy things of the pas t year. Unlike most posts, I’m going to do this from an unconventional angle., at least, unless there are more people who do things my way. I haven’t seen any yet, so fingers crossed on my unique eccentricity.

Instead of listing a single thing for most categories, I’m listing two. One for things actually released this year, one for something that’s older, but I only discovered this year. Call me a slow poke all you want, but I don’t jump every new thing the second it comes out. Often enough, I haven’t even heard of the current shiny object currently popular.

As much as I’m  a gamer, I still scratch my head when people first mention some of the newer releases of series I’m not too fond of. Brotherhood? What, like Fullmetal Alchemist? Oh, Assassin’s Creed? So that’s like… the second game, right? This gets even worse with movies, music, and books.

I doubt anyone reading this blog on a regular basis would be really surprised by this, considering how massively disorganized I am as a person, perfectly reflected by my updating schedule and writing style.

Okay, I’m rambling now, let’s just get started with what, in my opinion, is some of the best stuff of this year.

Yojimbo

The bad-ass to end all bad-asses.

Best Movies

Discovered this year:

Yojimbo

I love westerns, especially the Man With No Name movies with Eastwood. If you know anything about movies, you’ll know that the first movie of that trilogy, A Fistful of Dollars, is actually a remake of the Akira Kurosawa classic, Yojimbo. The movie follows the same plot, a hired swordsman walks into a town on the verge of a war between two rival gangs. He offers his services to the highest bidder, even playing the two sides against each other to raise the stakes and increase his prices.

If you loved A Fistful of Dollars, chances are you’ll love this version. Toshiro Mifune masterfully plays the role of the hired swordsman, often with much more charm than Clint Eastwood played his version of the character. Not to say Eastwood did bad in his version of course, as far as remakes go that is easily one of the better ones made. Mifune’s character just seems a bit more alive and energetic at points, his character is having fun playing the two sides against each other, as is the actor playing it. This movie managed to sneak its way into my Top 5 favorite movies made simply because of it. If you’re not afraid of black and white movies, or reading subtitles, give this movie a shot. It’s more than worth it, and personally I prefer it over The Seven Samurai due to its pacing.

Other movies worth mentioning: Dr. Strangelove, Duck Soup, Moon, Disctrict 9

Inception with Lego

Actual still from the movie Inception.

Released this year:

Inception

No. This movie isn’t deep. It’s not confusing either. It’s actually quite straightforward. Unless you’re suffering from some form of attention deficit disorder, you shouldn’t have too much problem following this movie. I’m still not sure where all this hype came from about this movie being hard to understand of incredibly deep.

Does this make it a bad movie? Hell no. It took a concept, explored it and managed to throw in a couple of really cool action scenes. This is how more action movies should be made. The fact that a few of the more memorable effects had nothing to do with computer generation certainly helped its cause.

Other movies worth mentioning: Kick-Ass, The A-Team

Best Games

Discovered this year:

Phoenix Wright: Trials and Tribulations.

Do I really need to explain myself on this? I only recently put together an overview concerning the Ace Attorney series, including this wonderful beast of a game.  Go see for yourself.

Other games worth mentioning: Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor, Mario and Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story, Cave Story, Dwarf Fortress

Mass Effect Shepard

I'm Commander Shepard, and this is my favorite post on the Citadel.

Released this year:

Mass Effect 2

You know how I talked about what a sequel should be in the past here on this blog? Well, this game is much more than that. In my mind still one of the very few games that can actually stand proudly and call itself a current generation title.

Debate how much part RPG and how much part cover-shooter this game really is all you want, this game made me feel like I was doing more than just sitting there playing the game. I was experiencing it. I felt like I made an impact on its universe and that my choices actually meant something in the game. This is the sort of thing I want to see more of in the world of video games. If more companies could pull of a setting as strongly as BioWare did with this gem, I’d be playing on consoles or PCs much more often than I currently do.

Other games worth mentioning: Professor Layton and the Unwound Future, Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies

Best TV Shows

Discovered this year:

Breaking Bad

Who knew a show about a meth cook/chemistry teacher/father/husband could be this interesting.  I’m not one to watch TV that often, and honestly, I don’t have too much to say other than Breaking Bad managed to get my attention and keep it. That’s a very rare thing for a TV show to do.

Other shows worth mentioning: Avatar The Last Airbender, The IT Crowd, Supernatural, Peep Show

I don’t really have an entry for best new TV show because, well, I haven’t watched anything made this year.

Best Posts on this Blog

In terms of views and response:

Bonfire Night

This one sparked quite some response, although mostly in the hushed secretive tones in private messages and instant messages. Why? I’m not sure. It got linked on Stumbleupon a more than once, drawing some serious attention it. I personally quite like the post, and I’m happy that if any post got attention, it’s that one.

My Pick:

Objection! An Ace Attorney Overview.

I wanted to write that one for ages. One of the reasons I picked kept picking up Apollo Justice despite hating it more than half a year ago was so that once I finished it, I could write an overview of the series. Playing through it almost made me hate the series instead. Still, I wanted to do the overview at some point. Then came along this site, and I kept telling myself that the very next review would be that Ace Attorney overview. Somehow instead, I ended up quitting the whole reviewing gig altogether.

I’m glad I finally wrote it though. It came out better than I hoped. If I wrote it back when I initially intended to, it would’ve never turned out the way it did. So all in all, it might have actually been a good thing that I never got around to writing it at first.

Leave a Reply

