Looking Back At 2010

Yup, we're looking back at the good old days.

It feels like only yesterday that I was at the restaurant, hoping we’d be able to finish up in time that night. As per usual, we didn’t work with the full staff, as the only other real employee managed to get a day off that day. It was a busy day, lots of complicated orders and customers. Yet somehow we managed to close before it was time. After we closed up, I literally ran towards the Irish pub I had initially planned to spend the evening at. I’m not sure how, but I managed to get there precisely two minutes to midnight. The only thing that could’ve made it any better was if they played Iron Maiden as I walked in, but they didn’t.

I got there just in time for the countdown to midnight. It was New Year’s Eve after all.

Except they missed the countdown by several minutes. By the time people caught on, we had our own separate countdown from the rest of the country. It was a full ten minutes later, but nobody cared. The overall atmosphere was great, people were having fun. The last thing we’d care about was when we’d have our countdown, so long as we had a countdown at some point.

We had two of them. To at least be right in one time zone, we followed the British time for the second countdown. We were on time with that one. Most of the people there were British or American, so at least we had a decent excuse to do a second countdown.

It doesn’t feel like that was a year ago, but it is. It’s almost New Year already. 2010 is coming to its end. Holy crap time went fast. There are retrospectives and top 10s and 20s everywhere on the internet already. It’s a good time to look back at what went right and wrong in the last year and get a good idea of future goals. The end of the year is a perfect cutting point.

Writing and Blogging

There’s so many things people can forget. You can even forget that you actually like doing something. In my case, I forgot how much I liked writing things.  Somehow being active on The Escapist Magazine‘s forums made me remember how much I enjoyed writing. It helped that I got dragged into the RP forums, kicking and screaming.

The RP bombed, but I started to get the hang of my character and writing things over 140 characters or less. As a diversion while waiting for things to happen, I wrote a few user reviews on another part of the forum.

Next to that, there was a secret Tumblr, one I still use from time to time for other purposes where I bitched and moaned about life. The posts kept getting longer. The reviews more well written and descriptive. There were a few short stories posted on yet another part of the forum. After a while I realized that it might be a good idea to get a decent place for my writing. That’s how I ended up running this blog. To this day, I’m still surprised how often I get reactions based on what I say on here. Often enough it’s in tweets and instant messages rather than actual comments on here, but I can’t really complain about that. I’m quite happy if I can keep people reading. Plus I’m actually having fun writing this thing. Starting up this blog was one of the best decisions I’ve made this year.

I made an attempt at selling my words at one point earlier this year. An attempt that was met with rejection. Still, I’m quite happy about it, that rejection is still better than not having done anything at all. I was planning to get right back at it until I finally sold at least something, but then life happened.

The Massive Change

Remember how I started off this year? Or well, for most of you that’d be, how I started this blog? Yeah, constant stress problems. Completely unhappy about life. Depressed as hell. The year didn’t start out that well for me.

And then I had that trip to England. If I ever had a single turning point in my life, then that sure as hell was one. During the last proper day in England, which I spent in the area I live in right now, I had rare moment of complete clarity. I didn’t have that constant feeling of wanting to be anywhere  else. My inner cynical self shut up. I knew where I was and I loved every second of it. To someone who never really felt at home anywhere and has wanted to escape for as long as he could remember, this was an amazing sensation.

Then I moved here a few months later. That feeling, at least for the most part, is still there. I’m happy that I made this move. It’s sent my life in a much better direction than it had been going into for the past few years.

Dreams and Goals

Right now, the biggest idea I can come up with for things I really want to push myself to do is keeping up with this whole writing thing. I still don’t feel like I can call myself a proper blogger or writer of any sort yet. Hopefully by the end of next year, I can feel safe to say otherwise.

So far the goals for the blog are quite clear.

I was planning on joining in on the Friday Flash Fiction fun, but that blog has closed down and turned itself into a monthly deal under the name Icarus’ Flight To Perfection. So instead, I’m going to do this one instead.

There’s this piece of flash fiction that I’ve been working on starring most of my friends as caricatures in a sort of steampunk fantasy world that I’ll be opening up on a separate Tumblr soon enough. It’s fun as a writing exercise and they seem to like it. I’ll post a link on here when it’s ready.

Selling words is still something I plan to do. Since I’ve gotten myself back into the habit of writing often, I’m going to hunt the market for possible jobs my words can take on.

I’m planning to bring back reviews to this site as well as writing series overviews. It’s what’s what led to me writing more often. Although I do wish I could be as consistently good at it as the person who inspired me, Josh Loomis, is with his It Came From Netflix series. Seriously, if you haven’t read his stuff yet, do it now. It’s a fantastic series.

Since I’m giving thanks right now anyway, I’d like to give some thanks to Chuck Wendig for keeping up a blog that gives me a good kick in the balls whenever I feel uninspired about writing again.

Then there’s Julie Summerell, who’s post about Father’s Day dragged quite something out of me here on the blog. If that hadn’t happened, there’s a good chance I wouldn’t have felt as attached to this blog as I do now and I’d have left it for dead after a month.

Oh, and Sky14Kemea. The person crazy enough to help me make my move to England, as well as help me with everything I need help with. Even if I’m often too stubborn to accept or request it.

And last but not least, all of you reader people. You’ve stuck around, read my posts, poked fun at me on Twitter or just found me because you’re searching for Al Bundy pictures. Whatever the reason, you have my thanks.

Let’s make the coming year an even better one!

4 thoughts on “Looking Back At 2010

  1. Great read mate and likely more than anything I’ll put up for looking back on this last year. Its great to see you evolve in many ways, your writing, your life in general, its been awesome to witness and its even better to have seen it all happen in only a few months.

    Basically, as cheesy as that sounded; and the fact it seemed to make me sound like a parent or something [oh God, not yet] it makes me glad that I had some part in at least convincing you that this was the right thing to do and I also commend Sky for helping you with this as well.

    Finally to wrap this up; I hope more good comes of this and that some of these dreams and goals come to fruition; I’m always pulling for you and can’t wait to see how the future unfolds; to a good 2011 bud.

    LITV

    • N’awh, Thanks Void! It’s been a hectic couple of months, hasn’t it? At least the final result turned out to be a good one.

Leave a Reply

