Time Flies

So I’ve been here in England for what? A couple of days? No wait, a week? A week and one day? Eight whole days? Really? It’s been a whole week already? Man, time flies. Not in the usual dragging slow way that seems like eternity but in hindsight turns out to feel non-existent afterwards either. This has been the fast, varied and exciting kind.

So, what have I been up to? Er… Shit. Not much actually. I’ve been kinda lazy. The daily routine these days is a bit… Simple. Wake up, quick exercise. Go downstairs and play some video games and/or watch a movie. Go back up and sleep. Well, it’s either sleep or play Resident Evil 2 until 7am.

I’m still applying for jobs like the motherfucking Fist of the North Star though. Not just because I need the money. Sure, it’s a big part of it. I just want to have something to do. A bit of purpose. Besides, once I’ve got a job, I can get a computer again, instead of borrowing Sky’s laptop all the time. I kinda feel bad about using hers all the time. It doesn’t feel right. At the same time, I do need to use it. Not like I’m craving a quick taste of the internet like some bandwidth sniffing online monkey, I’m past those days. I need it to apply for jobs, look into stuff I want to do, keep in touch with people on the other side of the pond. That sorta thing. Besides, internet is not exactly the biggest distraction in the house at the moment. Oh no, the biggest distraction in the house if glaring at me from the corner of the room. Demanding me to feed it some more attention. Having an SNES, Master System, Mega Drive, PS1, PS2 AND PS3 this close together in a room, right next to a massive stack of games bigger than the Wii’s non-shovelware library (although the PS1 already got that covered by itself) can get very distracting.

The five readers of this blog who have been with me long enough to remember my posts about my vacation earlier this year might remember me saying something about feeling at home when I got here. Like I could be myself. Actually have fun and all that. All of that still applies. It’s fantastic. The old home country never gave me that feeling. Same goes for the other countries I’ve visited. I might not be all that well-travelled, so maybe there are tons of other places that make me feel at home like I do here. Maybe there are places that make me feel even more at home. Who knows? All I know is that right now, at this very place, I feel at home. That odd feeling of homesickness I had when I was back at home in the Netherlands? It’s gone. Completely. Sure I miss a few people over there, but I don’t really miss the location. The atmosphere. Maybe that’s still to come? Having never even moved out of the city, I have no idea about how that tends to work out. Time will tell.

All those stress problems I used to have because of the old job have gone already. Haven’t even had stress hives once. I feel like a gigantic weight has been lifted from my shoulders. I feel lighter. It’s easier to move around. My mind is a lot clearer than it used to be. That’s probably not just because I don’t have to deal with the restaurant job anymore though. I’m trying to stick to a healthier diet. Greens and all that. A salad a day. Apples. Tofu. Milk. The good stuff, basically. I’m the only one in this household who eats healthy though. People here eat pizza and hamburgers for breakfast. First time I made a salad I got laughed at. The mention of seaweed and tofu is met with blank stares.  You know how every house has a weirdo that buys groceries? In this house, I’m that weirdo. Anyone buying anything green here is a weirdo though. Then again, this is a house where cooking is met with yelling, screaming and tweets about possible death after eating. If anything, I’m the odd one out because I’m the normal one.

Ha! Me normal. Good one.

I haven’t gone for as many walks as I wanted to. Laziness is to blame for that. I really do have to get a bit more active and go out more instead of sitting around at home all day. I like home though. it’s home-y. I feel at ease at home. Unlike the old one where I’d take any excuse not to be home. Then again, this house isn’t slowly falling apart. At least, not yet anyway. It’s not like the ceiling looks like something M.C. Escher cooked up during a lunch break in this house. It did in the old one. The hallway looked like that twisted hallway from the fourth dungeon in Ocarina of Time. Simple things like turning on the laundry machine could turn into a proper murder scheme. The whole house would shake. Lamps would come down from the ceiling downstairs. Heck, one came down from the ceiling on my room once.

In any case, it’s been a good week. I might not have done much during it, but that’s okay. Sometimes you just need to ease into your new situation before making any proper moves.

6 thoughts on “Time Flies

  1. I cannot begin to stress enough how glad I am for you.

    Also, man, you make it sound like it’s a party twenty four seven in that place.
    Only minus the noise. And people.
    And really everything about parties that suck.

    • Thanks, Tilly. This house is pretty damn sweet so far. I wouldn’t call it a party though, too much maintenance involved in those things.

      And there is still noise. Neighbors have this habit of turning the volume for the TV up around midnight. Still, it’s not as bad as the drunk people at the old house.

  2. I am so happy for you that you aren’t terribly stressed anymore and feel at home. My roommate and I are like you and trying to eat healthier so I guess that is lucky for us but I know what you mean about being the oddball with the groceries. I use to live with two boys who I swear lived on nothing but fast food. ick. Good luck in your job search. >hugs<

    • My old diet was close to being a fastfood diet as well. Cutting that shit out was probably one of the best things I’ve done.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

