Bonfire Night

Remember, remember the fifth of November. Gunpowder, Treason and Plot. I see no reason why Gunpowder Treason should ever be forgot.

Last night was Bonfire Night, or as it’s also known, Guy Fawkes Night. A part of me was actually afraid there’d be masks around all the time, like a Scientology Raid by “anonymous”. Luckily there were no masks and the day remained meme free. At least, as meme free as life can be when you’re sharing a house with someone from the internet.

The day didn’t start all too great. I had a job interview around 4pm. It didn’t go all that great. Not too bad either. It went okay. Decent. That’s still better than I expected it to go. First job interview in a good 5 years. Quite honestly, I was expecting death and despair. If the interview went half as bad as I thought it would have gone, you could’ve crossed this city off the map. No one goes there any more. It’s dead. There were people who did that bad though, I think. The person before me slowly slouched out, all broken like. The one before? He stormed out and slammed the door. The one before that agreed on what time he’d come back the dayafter. Me? I’d get a call before 8pm. No phone call before then, no job. Softer way of letting one go, I know. I would’ve preferred an overly dramatic statement full of hyperbole like “You’ll never work here. Your family will never work here. Don’t ever enter this street again.” It would have been a step up from “We’ll call. Maybe.”

Guess I’ll have to get used to that. Still have a whole bunch of job applications running around the place. I’m applying the like motherfucking Fist of the North Star.

It still feels awkward, not having a job. As much as I didn’t like the previous one, it put a sense of purpose to the day. It’s funny in a sense. When I still had the old job, I was depressed. Now I don’t have it, I feel disoriented. The new area and life aren’t too big a problem. It’s the lack of purpose that’s getting to me. Thoughts along that line kept going through my mind on the way back home.

When I got home, I saw a whole bunch of people in the living room. Apparently Sky’s cousin, David, had his friends over. I walked into the living room in time to watch a concrete donkey completely obliterating a bunch of worms. Yup, they were playing Worms. It looked like fun. I quickly went upstairs, got a change of clothes, went down… and everyone left. I sat down for the hell of it and started reading. Not really because I wanted to read, but because I didn’t really have much else to do. They were all going to see the bonfire. Well, except Sky. She was sti… Wait. Sky? She left shortly after, also going there.

I kinda felt left out. Like I was left behind on purpose. Like I’m not cool enough to go places or do things with. Like I did something wrong. The fact everyone left the moment I got into the living room added to that quite strongly. In hindsight, it was all just coincidence. I contemplated trying to find wherever it is people went on Bonfire Night, but being new here, I had absolutely no idea where that would be. I texted sky, saying I would’ve actually liked to come. Sat in the living room for a while, and decided I’d just get ready to go to bed.

The phone rang. Okay, it didn’t ring. It vibrated. … hehehe

I got a new message. It was from Sky. She thought I wouldn’t want to come, because I seemed down when I got back. She was coming back to pick me up. I was shocked. That’s one thing I didn’t expect. I waited for a while. After a while she came running up to the house to pick me up. She had a tram ticket ready for me. It was still a long walk after we got off the tram. I started feeling really bad for having her come back for me.

After a long walk, we got to the bonfire. David and his friends were there as well.

The fire was big. And it was hot. And it was awesome. In the original sense of the word, not the “red AND blue socks? Awesome!” sense. Something about just staring into the flames felt right. Oddly satisfying, even. It was like my doubts, and dreams, and worries were all fed to it as burned in the night. It was around 7pm when we got there, so it was cold and dark, making a perfect contrast with the hot fire, providing us with enough light to see properly.

Somehow I was swept away by nostalgic memories of bonfires as a kid on New Year’s Eve. Before the regulations became so strict you can barely have a fire larger than a firecracker. I had this very vague memory of a New Year’s Eve party at my aunt’s place. I’m sure I wasn’t old enough to really light any fireworks myself. We went to see this massive bonfire. The biggest one I remember from my childhood. We didn’t say too long. I think I remember a few people complaining about it being too hot. I’ve seen many bonfires since then, as there’d be at least one in the area every on New Year’s Eve, but they’d never really be as big or impressive as that one. Up until now. Although that could have to do with them being too close to buildings. That and the stricter rules about them during recent years. No wonder people set cars on fire instead.

When the fire had shrinked a bit, David and his friends left. Sky and me stayed, staring into the fire. Looking at the occasional fireworks. Somehow, the fire didn’t get dull. Sure, it kept shrinking and it became colder and colder, but somehow the fire managed to keep this aura of power. There were fireworks as well, but they weren’t really all too impressive. Although I have to admit I’ve never been a fan of fireworks.

After a while it’d start getting colder, the fire had become quite small. Fireworks became less frequent. And a bunch of loud, annoying teenage girls start yelling at each other. We decided to go back home. The rest of the evening was spent watching The Big Lebowski while eating ice cream. David came home and joined in on it.

I don’t have any frame of reference for bonfire nights. But as far as experiences go, it was a very good one. It reminded me of old New Year’s Eve parties as a kid.

Leave a Reply

