Catching Up

It’s been a good 18 days since I last updated this blog. Shameful, I know. I don’t like to say it, but things aren’t going to get better any time soon. This is a quick post to catch up on recent events in my life. Not sure if there’s a good audience for that, but if you’re reading this, then you’ll have to do. So stay a while and listen.

If you haven’t read the last post and somehow stumbled your way into this page with no clue about what’s going on, let’s go for a quick summary of the events.

  • Out of job soon
  • Had just started saving money to move to the UK.
  • Decide to try to move and take care of everything in one month

This whole thing basically started just a few days before the start of October, leaving me with little over a month to get a house, job, and take care of everything in a short period of time.

So, how have I been holding up? Have I managed to get things rolling? Am I going to hit a brick wall in the near future.

Okayish. Yes. No.

Okayish because, well, I’ve been sick for a good week. Had to stay in bed as much as possible and sleep as more than I’d like to just to be able to, that’s right, go to work. I didn’t expect to get any days off from work, and I didn’t. So I had to soldier on during some of the busiest days of the month while I was barely able to stand up straight. It was hard and brutal, but I’ve managed to pull through and live to tell the tale. Okay, it wasn’t that dramatic, but it sure felt that way at the time. Besides the illness, things are looking good.

Things are rolling. Sometimes all you need is a little push in the right direction. This whole restaurant ending deal was the push for me. I’m glad to say I’ll have a place to stay when I move. Although I will have to find a way to repay the always sometimes kind Sky for that. Long-time readers of this blog (never thought I’d use that dreaded term, but I just did) might remember her from my last two post about my trip to England earlier this year. A few of you might even know her directly from the deepest and darkest depths of Twitter. She managed to get a place to stay from her aunt. I’ll be sharing it with her and her cousin, but considering the area and the place house I’m living in now… That’s still a massive step upwards. Job-wise things are still unsure. But I’m convinced things will work out.

I don’t really think I’ll be hitting a brick wall anytime soon. Things have been going smoother than I expected. I’ve got my plane ticket. Most of my stuff is stored up at my mom’s. I’ve sold stuff. Put out more stuff on garbage day.

In fact, I’ve had more time to myself than I thought I would. This is probably because I spent the first week stressing so much, trying to do everything at once. Almost everything is done now. It’s almost scary. I’ve been thinking about weird things, like how to regroup my FaceBook friends now that I’m moving country and things like that.

The more paranoid parts of me are still screaming that none of this is really happening. Change shouldn’t be happening this easily and fast. Despite all the evidence pointing out that my life is changing up, fast. For the first time in years I’m actually looking forward to all these changes that are going to take place. Just thinking about all the new possibilities that I’ll have. Even just wondering about how different it is to consciously be aware of the fact that I’m a foreigner. I guess I’ll have to learn to stop breaking my English from now on as well. Communicating with a Japanese woman and Dutch guy in English gives you a very interesting grammatical structure. Especially when they tend to mix up words from all three languages constantly.

Just two more weeks until my big move. Life’s going to become very interesting again very soon.

Leave a Reply

