Just One Week

Lot’s of things can happen in a week. It’s often quite surprising how different  one week can feel to the next.

Last week, one day after making my previous post here on the blog, my boss pulled me aside to have a little talk. He didn’t need to say anything, really. The moment he pulled me aside at the start of the workday, I knew what was going to happen. It had been mentioned before, but never with an actual date attached to it.

The restaurant is going down. Come November 1st, I’ll be out of a job.

Well, I knew it was going to happen sooner or later anyway. So I can’t say I was surprised. I think the only surprised party present was my boss at my lack of surprise at his big announcement. Two choices appeared before me.

The first choice is the easiest one. I can look for another job here in the Netherlands. Quite possibly use up some of the money I had put aside while I search for a new job. Then when I get work again, I can continue with my initial plan of moving to England. Whenever that is. This doesn’t really seem to appealing. In fact, it seems like the exact plan I had several times before. The plan that has kept me from moving out of the country a few times in the past.

That leaves us with the choice that I’m going for. Continue my plans to move to England. I have a month to organize everything and move to England on a shoestring budget. It’s risky as hell. Pretty much every aspect of it can go wrong. Quite easily even. But you know what? I’m going for it. The sure-thing boat never gets far from shore, right?

Right I have one box in England. Several boxes packed up here that I want to store at my mom’s place. I’m still waiting on my NI number. Sold stuff on eBay. Sent out my CV to several companies. I’m house hunting.

My room is starting to feel foreign to me. No DVDs, books, or game consoles. Boxes everywhere. The possessions I do have are scattered around the place. Although that’s normal, I guess. I’ve lived here for a few years, so it’s strange to suddenly move out and see the room without my stuff again. Nostalgic, sad or melancholic aren’t words I’d use to describe my feelings towards moving out of here though. If anything, I’m really happy I can get out of this place sooner than I thought.

The same goes for my feelings towards this city, The Hague. A city I’ve lived my entire life in. Chances are I’d feel a bit more bad about it if they didn’t tear down most streets and building I had fond memories of though. I kinda miss the city. At least, the old one. Not this new one. Staying here wouldn’t change that.

It’s weird. A week ago I wasn’t even anywhere near ready. When the news hit me, I didn’t think I’d be able to pull this thing off in a month. I pretty much completely panicked. Lots of that leaked over on my Twitter. There’s so much going on this week and so much of it is going right. I’m starting to get confident in my ability to pull this thing off.

Then again, we live in an age where Duke Nukem Forever sees an actual launch date. Even more impressive, a 62 year old fantasy writer with Alzheimer’s crafts his own sword using meteorites. Yeah, I’m talking about Pratchett here. Sometimes it’s really hard not to believe in magic.

One thought on “Just One Week

  1. You’re right.

    It is hard.

    Which is why, skeptic though I might be, part of me will always believe.

    This closed door opens a window. Good luck, and I have a feeling you are going to be just fine.

Leave a Reply

