Put The Remote Down

You know that feeling that you’ve been watching way too many TV shows? That’s exactly what I’m feeling right now. Since coming back from England, I’ve spent most of my time torre.. er.. “renting” and watching movies and TV shows. Okay, I haven’t spent all my time this way. I’ve gone for long walks, read quite a bit, made some progress on the guitar, and planned a bunch of things for the future. Still, quite a large amount of time has been spent watching TV shows.

I think it’s time for me to take a step away from the television. Or in my case, from the VLC icon on my computer screen. The last week or so I’ve already slowed down a notch, but then again I had to. I’m back at work, so I can’t watch as many TV shows as I was able to during my 2 weeks of complete freedom.

I didn’t really feel free during the time though. And this isn’t leading to one of those sappy work has set me free stories either. I think I’m going to keep feeling like this for a long time. It’s the feeling I got the second I realized I was back home after that vacation. It’s probably why I reached out for escapism in televised form.

I know, the grass is greener on the other side. But at least there’s a good amount of grass there. Not to say we don’t have greenery, but a small park isn’t exactly the same as a forest or a massive hill, now is it? I never realized I actually liked nature simply because I had never seen it before. So naturally after finding that out and being taken away from it, I needed something to distract me.

Here’s the series that have done just that:

The IT Crowd

The IT Crowd

For some reason I never had any interest in seeing this one. A comedy show about an IT department? Sounds like it’s just made for quick laughs at the expense of geeks. You know, like that other show that uses geek culture for the dumbest laughs they can possible find (Big Bang Theory).

Instead I got a funny comedy with memorable characters, everlasting brick jokes, and most importantly, the got computers and geek references right. It’s rare enough to get a TV show where they correctly show you someone using a computer. This one goes as far as doing an accurate parody of people getting addicted to FaceBook. Not to mention Roy’s T-shirts during the show, all of them referring to online jokes and memes, for instance, Keyboard Cat. Or the usage of jokes like “if you google ‘google’ you break the internet”.

I’ll admit, I initially didn’t like it all that much, but the second episode just had me. In fact, I’ve memorized the emergency services number from the show. 0118 999 881 999 119 725… 3

I watched the entire show (4 seasons, 6 episodes each) in under a week.

Breaking Bad


Breaking Bad

A struggling chemistry teacher gets diagnosed with lung cancer. He resorts to cooking meth to provide for his pregnant wife and handicapped son, while at the same time using the money to pay for his treatment and saving money to leave behind for his family after his death.

This is one of those series that really just makes me sit down, shut up, and watch the damn thing. Not a word or interruption until the episode is over. It’s gripping. Strong. Certainly one of the better shows I have seen. Bryan Cranston’s portrayal of Walter White is just stunning, it’s hard to see him as Hal in Malcom in the Middle again.

I’m currently halfway through the second season of this, so if any of you spoil it I will track you down and repeatedly bash you in the head with a crowbar. Just a fair warning.

30 Rock

30 Rock

I think it’s safe to say that this is the comedy you go to when you’re craving more Arrested Development. It seems to have the same fan base, same amount of cameos and has gradually become more and more absurd in the same way Arrested Development did. The big difference being that the main premise of this show is likely the one thing that keeps it from being canceled. The show is aware of this and keeps nudging their own network to see just how far they can go.

I’m currently acquiring season 4 through negotiable means.

Castle

Castle

A crime fiction writer teams up with the police and takes down bad guys.

That’s a long introduction isn’t it? To be honest, I’m still not sure I like this show. It’s a bit bland, and we’ve seen all sorts of people solving crimes in TV shows already. The only reason I keep watching is because Nathan Fillion in it and well, he’s Nathan Fillion. As soon as an episode is over, I pretty much forget all about it.

I’ve only watched the first season, and I’m still not entirely sure I’ll watch the rest.

Garth Marengi’s Darkplace

Garth Marengi's Darkplace

Somewhere around 1980, the best-selling horror author Garth Marengi and his publicist Dean Learner created a series for TV that would change the evolutionary course of Man over a series of half-hour episodes. The show got canceled by Channel 4 because it was deemed to radical.

A fake 80s horror show that’s intentionally made to be so bad it’s good. With audio not being in sync with the characters, revolvers that make laser sounds, terrible writing, even worse dialogue, and almost everything being in slow-motion. One of the funniest things I’ve watched recently.

Watched all of it in one go. It’s only 6 episodes. Right now I’m watching it again before going through the extras.

2 thoughts on “Put The Remote Down

  1. I’ve been watching IT Crowd since it started, and it really is one of the best current sitcoms. Personally it’s not quite as good as Peep Show, but it’s pretty damn awesome.

    And Breaking Bad is probably my favourite “drama” series that I have seen. Not that I have seen that many good ones, but this really tops them all. I even find it that little bit better than Dexter, which is probably second in the list. Then again, I have only watched the first series of Dexter. I am really annoyed that I have to wait till next July for series 4, though.

    Castle and Garth Merengi don’t look all that interesting to me. The premise of Castle seems rather silly, actually.

    30 Rock, I have seen it, and I liked it, but I have never really downloaded sitcoms. Maybe I should download it.

    • Darkplace is one of the funniest things I’ve seen. I think it has to do with my love of things that are so bad they’re good. There’s something about a man exploding one second and still having a dead body to return to as a zombie that just appeals to me somehow.

      I don’t think 30 Rock is something you can watch endlessly. The over the top nature makes it really easy to get tired of if you watch too much of it in a short period of time. Despite that, it’s still an excellent comedy. I rank Arrested Development way above it though.

      And yes to Dex and Breaking Bad, although in my opinion their positions are switched. There’s just something about that Dexter character that’s just charming and lovable somehow. More-so than the original book version of the character.

Leave a Reply

