Technical Failures

It’s been a weird week for me. Actually, chances are that I wouldn’t know what a normal week would be like if I ever lived one. Still, if any week deserves the label of weird, or downright creepy, it’s this one.

First off, my R4 card died. In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, an R4 is a flash card for the Nintendo DS. It allows me to download and play any DS game on the actual system, as well as run a variety of homebrew software. Now I know what you’re thinking, I’m a dirty smelly pirate and shouldn’t be using one in the first place. I wouldn’t entirely disagree either. The problem with gaming, especially on a Nintendo platform in Europe is that there are barely any real releases here. The only thing you can find in stores is shovelware, quickly slapped together junk to try to cash in at an unsuspecting audience. A hardcore series like Shin Megami Tensei, or even Final Fantasy Tactics Advance? Where’s the profit in that? Only a small group of actual gamers are willing to spend money on it, rather than the people who use their handhelds as a children’s toy or paperweight that buy games blindly. So without a flashcard, most good games are near impossible to get, unless you’re willing to pay way too much extra to have them imported from the US. Which Nintendo is also against quite strongly.

My entire DS library has been reduced to  Pokémon HeartGold and a few GBA games including Fire Emblem, Golden Sun and Advance Wars.

Next up, my digital camera died. I don’t use it all that often. Maybe if I’d have tried turning it on some time earlier I would’ve had the same problem. Maybe through some weird bit of luck that might have stopped the problem. Either way, the thing won’t turn on or charge up anymore. I need a new one. I’ve barely used the thing since I bought it about 3 years ago. I was planning on using it a lot during my trip to England next week. Now I either need to ask someone if I can borrow theirs or buy a new one. I don’t want to spend too much money on extra things this close to the trip though. The money I have now I want to use during the trip, and maybe for a smaller one day trip to Germany afterwards depending on how much I have left.

So, that’s two technical failures in one week already, what else could possible go wrong?

My headphones decided to stop working somewhere last night. Somehow the wiring got screwed and the left side stopped working. I tried rewiring the thing myself, something which I’m usually quite successful at. This time it just didn’t want to work. I usually go for the more expensive ones as they tend last me longer. This one lasted me a bit over a year. I don’t have any speakers for my computer either, as I do everything through my headphones. Even when I did have speakers, I’d still wear my headphones and dissolve into my own little digital world. I like it that way.

I still have small plugs which allow me to keep watching my usual online shows, but I wouldn’t use them to watch a movie or listen to music. The sound quality isn’t all that great. I got them for free from a friend more than a year ago, so I can’t really complain though. Still, I’d much rather have proper headphones again.

Well, that’s three. How much more is there to come?

Not too long ago I posted my rant about the PSP and what a hell is was to get the thing started. Right now, I’m almost too afraid to turn it on in fear of breaking it. Same with my consoles and to some extent the feeling also goes for my computer. I really don’t want any more technical failures to start appearing before this trip starts. It’s starting to feel like a bad omen.

Either way, when I get back I do plan on replacing my DS flash card and either get my 360 fixed (that one died ages ago). I really hope that’s all I have to replace.

One thought on “Technical Failures

  1. You should research cards other than the R4 ones, apparently a lot of the copy protection lately has been targeting the R4 because they’re so popular.

    I’m no expert in the field, having an R4 myself and not much time to actually look into this subject, but it’s something you might want to check out.

    I could be completely wrong though, I’m really tired a the moment and I might be rambling.

Leave a Reply

