The first of many posts not about gaming

So far I’ve only posted about games on this blog. It’s time to change things up a bit. This isn’t just a gaming blog, this is a blog about anything I really enjoy or want to write about. This doesn’t mean I’ll never write about games after this post, I’ll keep writing about that as I please. No, it means I’m slowly spreading out.

This blog is new, fresh. Gaming is something I know well, and find easy to write and talk about. To ease into this blog, I figured the best way to do it was through gaming. A review, a rant, a bit of a blog. Now we get to move on to the life stuff. In the future I’ll move towards movie reviews too, as I watch a lot of movies. Usually around 5-10 a week. 20 in a good week. Given that I’ve never written a movie review before, I’m  really excited about this.

I originally started writing user reviews for video games over on the Escapist’s User Review section of the forums. After a while I decided I should move them elsewhere, like a blog. I saw a few other users do the very same thing, so I figured why not? Being a lazy bastard, I naturally just toyed with the idea in my head without really doing anything about it. It wasn’t until I was writing a long post about the localization of Mario and Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story on Tumblr when I realized that I really do need a blog to post this on instead. Tumblr is better for short quick posts. Somewhere between Twitter and a proper blog, plus silly and/or inspiring images.

So I made this place. Decided I may as well use my name this time around. I already had an old blog floating around the internet, but my writing back then was so bad it makes me cringe if I look back now. Although it’s sure that in a year from now I’ll look back at this post with a similar feeling.

Although there is one big difference between this blog and the last. This time I have a better reason than just boredom for me to make a blog and post on it.

It’s an odd time for me to start a blog right now. But I did it anyway. I’m currently preparing for my first trip to England next month. I’m really excited about it, especially considering I’ve never even been to an English-speaking country before… or flown in an airplane… or met people I know from the internet.  It’ll be a first time for a lot of things, and I can’t wait until it’s time to go.

Besides that it’s the usual house and job hunting routine. I want something new in my life. The choice to actually study English seriously was the first step towards it, now I just need to pull through with the rest of it. I’m still not entirely sure what I’ll do after I finish my study. I’m confident I’ll pass. It’s mostly a test for foreigners who learned English as a second language. Seeing as the test to gauge my level was so full of the grammatical flaws I’m used to seeing from Dutch people, I feel like I have nothing to worry about there. After that? I don’t know. Hopefully I’ll be old and wise enough to magically know what to do beyond that when I get there.

Chances are I won’t, or perhaps I’ll have started on it before this year is even through. Life is unpredictable that way. The old me hated this about life. Now, I find this the most enjoyable aspect of it.

In the meantime, I can write here for this blog.

If there’s anyone reading up until now, I’m looking for new blogs to read. Anyone got any good suggestions for me?

One thought on “The first of many posts not about gaming

Leave a Reply

